Two More House Members Won’t Seek Reelection

The mass exodus from Congress continued this week when two more members of the House announced that they won’t be seeking re-election next year.

Reps. Wiley Nickel (D-NC) and Drew Ferguson (R-GA) both said they would not be looking to win another term in Congress’ lower chamber in 2024.

Lawmakers in North Carolina redrew Nickel’s district recently, which reduced the chances that he’d win re-election anyway. So, instead of trying to win back his seat, he announced she’d be stepping away from political life — at least for now.

Reports have swirled that Nickel, a 48-year-old freshman congressman, could launch a bid for the Senate in 2026, a seat that is currently held by Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC).

“Republicans have rigged the system to favor themselves, and I don’t have a path to run for re-election,” he said in announcing his departure.

Republicans shouldn’t have to fret over Ferguson’s seat, as the district he represents is solidly conservative.

In announcing that he wouldn’t run for re-election, Ferguson said he and his wife are looking forward to spending additional time with their family, “while continuing to work to keep Georgia the best state in America to live and do business.”

The 57-year-old Ferguson didn’t provide any specific information about what he plans to do in the future.

Taken together, this means that the GOP has a good chance at gaining one additional seat in the House due to Nickel stepping aside and the fact that her newly-drawn district leans conservative.

The announcements by these two members of the House bring the total to 40 Congress members who to this point said they won’t be seeking re-election in 2024 — 33 from the House and seven from the Senate.

In November alone, 13 members of Congress said they weren’t going to run. That marked the largest number in any single month in more than 10 years, according to

All of this upheaval creates an interesting situation heading into the crucial 2024 election cycle, where control of both houses of Congress plus the White House will be up for vote.